Print Submissions

Standard Submission Process

How to Submit

Northwestern University Law Review welcomes submissions of unsolicited manuscripts twice a year. Interested authors should submit their work during one of two periods: (1) January through early April; or (2) August through early October. We do not review submissions or expedite any reviews during the summer period (late April through July) or the winter period (mid-October through January).

Our 2017 Spring Selection Cycle has closed. We look forward to receiving your submissions through our Fall Exclusive Submissions Track or through our Fall Selection Cycle. 

Interested authors must submit articles, essays, and book reviews through the online system Scholastica. Print submissions are not accepted via email and are only accepted via postal mail in extenuating circumstances.

If you have questions regarding print submissions, you may contact Brandon Johnson, Senior Articles Editor, for more information.

Expedited Reviews

Northwestern University Law Review attempts to honor all requests for expedited review if a manuscript has received an offer from another journal. When requesting expedited review, please do so via Scholastica; the system will automatically alert the Articles Board. If the Law Review makes an offer on an expedited manuscript, the author will have a limited amount of time to respond to such an offer.

Submission Length

Northwestern University Law Review has no formal length requirements, and we will review all submissions regardless of length. However, we support the statement (pdf) by the editors of several of our peer journals and endorse the position that most articles can effectively convey their arguments within the range of 40-70 journal pages. We believe that establishing word limit guidelines will enhance the quality of legal scholarship and improve the editing process. To that end, we strongly prefer articles between 15,000 and 30,000 words, including footnotes. Only in exceptional circumstances will we publish articles in excess of 30,000 words. The Law Review also encourages authors to submit essays, pieces between 8,000 and 15,000 words including footnotes. Essays typically have a more focused purpose—advancing a narrow thesis or contributing to discussion on a current, salient issue.

Exclusive Submission Track: July 2017

The Northwestern University Law Review is pleased to announce our exclusive submission track for Fall 2017 submissions. We will accept exclusive submissions from July 1, 2017-July 21, 2017 at 11:59 PM Central Time. For all articles submitted in accordance with the instructions outlined below, the Law Review guarantees Articles Board consideration and a publication decision by July 28, 2017.

Articles receiving a publication offer via the exclusive submission track will be published in Volume 112 in the spring of 2018. In exchange for this prioritized and timely consideration, a participating author must agree to withhold the article submitted through our exclusive submission track from submission to any other publication until receiving a decision back from us. Authors not receiving publication offers are free to submit elsewhere after notification of our publication decision decision, which will occur no later than July 28, 2017. 

Please note that by submitting an article via the exclusive submission track, the author agrees to accept a binding publication offer, should one be extended.

To submit beginning July 1, 2017, please email your article manuscript, a cover letter, and CV to Brandon Johnson, Senior Articles Editor, at b-johnson2018@nlaw.northwestern.edu. Please kindly title the subject line "2017 Exclusive Submission Track."


Online Submissions

Northwestern University Law Review Online (NULR Online) publishes shorter, more accessible scholarly pieces that are intended for a wider audience than most traditional journal articles. As such, NULR Online prefers pieces between 3,000 to 6,000 words, and will only consider unsolicited submissions that are less than 10,000 words, inclusive of footnotes. We aim to publish a wide range of content, including short essays, responses to articles, debates, book reviews, and other forms of legal scholarship. We welcome submissions from professors, judges, practitioners, and law students.

Selected submissions will be published on the Law Review's website and are carried on Westlaw and LexisNexis. In addition, up to two NULR Online pieces are selected for publication in each of the print Law Review's four annual issues.

How to Submit

NULR Online accepts submissions on a continuous basis throughout the year. Authors are encouraged to submit through the online submissions service Scholastica. We also accept submissions via email.

If you have questions regarding NULR Online, you may contact Thomas Rousse, Senior Online Editor, for more information.


Symposium Submissions

How to Submit

Northwestern University Law Review is no longer accepting submissions of symposium proposals for the 2017-2018 academic year. Submissions for future symposia will be accepted via email at NULRSymposium@gmail.com. If you have any questions, please feel free to email our Symposium Editor, Adithi Grama

Please see submission guidelines for your symposium propsals on the Symposium page


General Submissions Policies

These policies apply to both print and NULR Online submissions.

Formatting of Text and Citations

Manuscripts should be double-spaced and use footnotes rather than endnotes. Text and citations should conform to The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (19th ed. 2010) and the Texas Law Review Manual on Usage & Style (12th ed. 2011). We also request that authors provide a word count, including footnotes. The Law Review encourages the use of gender-neutral language.

Replication Policy for Empirical Work

The Northwestern University Law Review strongly encourages authors submitting empirical works to make their datasets available and accessible during the selection process in order to allow for complete consideration of their work. Further, the acceptance of any empirical work will be contingent upon the author's documentation and archival of all datasets in a manner sufficient to allow third parties to replicate the published findings. These datasets will be posted in a publicly available space, such as the Law Review's website. The Law Review will make narrow exceptions to this policy to the extent necessary to protect privacy or confidentiality.